Helping St. Louis

A Blog About Helping Each Other

Helping St. Louis

Posted by Schevus on November 25, 2008

Hello! This blog will serve as my sounding board and shameless advertising medium for various charitable and simple goodwill endeavors in and around the city of St. Louis. I have been very invested in building my community for several years now and I find it incredibly rewarding. With the election of Barack Obama, and his repeated call for increased public service – coupled with the energy that young people have had for his campaign and his ideas – I am hopeful that much more good can and will be done in the years to come. I hope to join and help that movement with this blog and my continued efforts to make the country and the world a better place.

This blog will be focused around St. Louis (and the surrounding area – I’m from the Metro East), but there will be plenty of content for those of you not in the area. As well as local matters, I will also discuss regional, national, and global efforts and organizations.

My recent volunteer endeavors have focused on homeless outreach. I actively support a shelter for homeless women with chemical dependence and mental health issues. In addition to that, however, I also will be assisting with the set-up of a new charter school, as well as being involved with Rebuilding Together, various food and clothing drives, Meals-On-Wheels, animal shelters, and other charitable areas.

I think it is especially important for young people to be involved in their community, because as an age group we are historically more apathetic. If we can tap into the almost limitless resource of ideas and energy that the young population possesses, there is nothing we cannot accomplish.

I look forward to our conversation and dialog!

Note: I am an incredibly busy person, and I will desperately try to keep this blog updated regularly. If you happen to like what you see, but would like more content, or would like it more often, feel free to drop me a note. Prodding always helps!

One Response to “Helping St. Louis”

  1. Jason said

    Hey Schev, I just posted a book review on “Poor People” by William T. Vollmann. If you haven’t read the book already, I think it would be right up your alley.

    Peace, my friend,
    Jason

Leave a Reply

 
