Helping St. Louis

A Blog About Helping Each Other

Helping Hand Contest

Posted by Schevus on December 12, 2008

I have been wanting to do something to encourage more dialog and discussion on this blog, so I have decided on the Helping Hand Contest. All you have to do is leave a comment on this post sharing what you feel is your best story about helping someone or being helped yourself. The story does not have to be about the holidays, but those are more than welcome. Please add “Contest Submission” at the top of your comment.

I will take submissions until 11:59 PM CST next Friday Dec 19th. I will accept up to three submissions per person. The winner, as judged by me, will receive a $25 Kiva Gift Certificate. For those of you unfamiliar with Kiva, check out Holiday Gift Ideas. If you are not excited about helping out a poor entrepreneur (which you should be!), you will be happy to know that once the loan is paid back you will be free to deposit your Kiva credit into a PayPal account for use as you see fit.

For those of you worried about contact information, all that will be required is an email address. I’m sure you can create a disposable one to receive your gift certificate if necessary.

I will probably conduct more of this type of contest in the future, so check back often! I already have a few ideas and themes for future contests in mind. =) Good luck!

10 Responses to “Helping Hand Contest”

  1. This is a great idea. I didn’t know about Kiva and glad to learn about it. Good luck!

    Alexandra

  2. Schevus said

    Alexandra,

    Thanks. Kiva really is one of the best organizations I have found.

    Surely you have a story to share?

    – Schev

  3. jwaire said

    Contest Submission

    hi schev. thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment. i’m actively lending a hand thru my lens. i try to capture our city (baltimore) in a way that makes people stop, think and reflect upon their own lives. awareness is everything.

    i’m currently donating a can of food for any comments left on either of my blogs. it’s a small gesture…but that’s where BIG things start. i have received several offers to match my final tallies. a movement has been created…and it feels pretty good.

  4. Schevus said

    Jwaire,

    Thanks for sharing your story! I hope everyone will take a few seconds to stop by your blog and give a can. Keep up the good work!

    – Schev

  5. annpeace said

    hi! thanks for an enlightening comment on my post. i couldn’t agree more on your point about publicizing charity that, yes, it is also to share it with others. I wish you all the best in your charity works!

    -annpeace

  6. Schevus said

    Ann,

    Thanks for stopping by! Do you have a story to share?

    – Schev

  7. Archie said

    I think you and your readers will enjoy the fact that our pastor asked us to donate the shoes on our feet to “Soles for Souls”. You can read the whole story at http://37stories.wordpress.com/2008/11/30/soles-for-souls/ Enjoy!

  8. Schevus said

    Thanks for sharing that Archie. As I’m sure you’ve seen I have recently posted on Soles 4 Souls. Time is running out for the 50,000 Shoes in 50 Days Challenge, so please consider giving up a coffee or a snack and give $5 for two pairs of shoes for those in need.

    – Schev

  9. lartdejournalier said

    Contest Submission

    First, thank you for visiting my blog, as it led me back to yours. The topic of your blog is near and dear to my heart of helping and revitalizing my beloved St. Louis. As part of the NaBloPoMo I have tried to daily discuss a different charity in which I locally have participated.

    Here is my story to share.
    Back in the late 1990s, I worked for the US Army Corps of Engineers (USACE)as a lowly co-op student while I went to school full time at night.

    Each year the USACE St. Louis District would adopt several families to assist as a goodwill holiday gesture. Each family member made a list of their most desired items and that list was given to our little committee for a shopping spree, as well as a list of every family member’s age, clothing sizes and shoe sizes. Funds were provided by cash donation and donation-payouts of paid leave.

    The people of the St. Louis District of USACE were always very generous when it came to this project and I wish I could recall the proper name of this adopt-a-family organization.

    Anyhow, it was always sad to see that the family’s mom always asked for simple household items that we take for granted: toilet paper, bath towels, soap, an interview suit, canned soup, etc. In addition to the very practical items she had requested, we also typically purchased some extra niceties for her: jewelry, new shoes, perfume, makeup, pretty hat and scarf, etc. And of course, we provided large gift certificates to the local grocery stores.

    As sad as that was to consider, what was saddest, and yet the happiest moment of working on that commitee, was delivering the packages to the family. I recall handing a wrapped package to a little girl and her asking “What is this?” I was stunned. Really? This girl was 10 years old and had no idea what a wrapped present was, much less that it was to be unwrapped.

    Once I finally convinced her that she could tear off the lovely paper (which she neatly refolded and placed in a pocket), she then looked in stunned disbelief at the doll inside. She took it out of it’s container and then asked “Whose doll?”.

    Again, I was shocked. “It’s for you…Merry Christmas”. Her face lit up as she questioned again “Really? A doll…for me?” and hugged it to her chest.

    That moment is forever etched in my head and in my heart.

    As wonderful of a moment as that was, I could never again bring myself to meet the recipient family of our donations and busied myself with the shopping end of the committee.

  10. Schevus said

    Lartdejournalier,

    Thank you for that wonderful story! It certainly strains the emotions to be in such close proximity with those who are in need.

    I’m excited to have a fellow St. Louisan visit my humble blog! I hope you visit often and find my posts useful. I have been following your charity posts for a while via the tag surfer 😉

    – Schev

Leave a Reply

 
