Helping St. Louis

A Blog About Helping Each Other

Missouri 2-1-1

Posted by Schevus on December 17, 2008

I have discovered an impressive service offered by the St. Louis Area United Way called Missouri 2-1-1. Basically, anyone in most MO counties can dial 211 on a land line phone and will be connected with a United Way representative 24 / 7. If calling from a cell phone the number is 800-427-4626.

Through this service individuals can receive assistance in several areas. This is the list of services outlined on the website:

Basic Human Needs

  • Food pantries
  • Shelters
  • Rent
  • Utility assistance

Physical and Mental Health Resources

  • Medicaid
  • Medicare
  • Pre-natal care
  • Crisis intervention
  • Support groups
  • Counseling
  • Alcohol and drug rehabilitation

Work Initiatives

  • Educational and vocational training programs
  • English as a second language classes
  • Job training
  • General Educational Development (GED) preparation
  • Financial and transportation assistance

Support for Seniors and those with Disabilities

  • Agencies on aging
  • Centers for independent living
  • Adult day care
  • Meals at home
  • Respite care
  • Home health care
  • Transportation and recreation

Support for Children Youth and Families

  • After-school programs
  • Tutoring
  • Mentorship programs
  • Family resource centers
  • Protective services
  • Counseling
  • Early childhood learning programs
  • Child care referral centers
  • Recreation

Volunteering

  • Volunteer centers
  • Mentorship opportunities
  • Locations to donate food
  • Clothing, furniture, computers and other items
  • One-time, long-term, permanent, part-time or group volunteering opportunities

Needless to say, this is a pretty comprehensive list. I have not tried this service personally, but it does appear to be pretty commendable. Does anyone have experience with this?

UPDATE:

I found this article about 2-1-1 from the St. Louis Post Dispatch. I was also contacted by a United Way representative who will be forwarding me relevant charitable information! =)

2 Responses to “Missouri 2-1-1”

  1. tntwmom said

    I just learned of this today. I called 2-1-1 from my cell phone when I was searching for assistance with our utility bill.

    I told them what I needed, and they gave me a couple of phone numbers to call in my area.

    I had no idea it existed until today, and it’s a great tool to have available! Not sure what states or cities it covers though.

    Shannon

  2. Schevus said

    I’m happy to hear that this program exists elsewhere. I was actually contact by a United Way representative about this post, so that was pretty cool.

    – Schev

Leave a Reply

 
