Helping St. Louis

A Blog About Helping Each Other

Help Needed – First Volunteer!

Posted by Schevus on December 23, 2008

Shannon at All About Shannon has offered to assist with my Help Needed endeavor. Much thanks to her!

Recently I have been trying to help a few people find assistance that have posted on the St. Louis Craigslist. One of them is a 24 year old Bosnian immigrant with an ailing mother. I really hope he is able to find the help he needs. If you would like to help in any way with promoting and expanding Help Needed, just let me know.

Shannon has also shared another excellent online charity resource called Wish Upon a Hero. This organization is similar to Modest Needs which I posted about last. Wish Upon a Hero allows people to post a wish, no matter how small or large. People willing to grant, or partially grant, a wish are called Heroes. Heroes can come in the form of individuals, charities, or corporations.

Some examples of current wishes are “for baby girl clothing and a crib, ” “for $1 donations to save my house,” and “for a better Christmas for my 4 kids.” These are all small requests, and by working together we can make a big difference in the lives of many people. Please check out Wish Upon a Hero!

4 Responses to “Help Needed – First Volunteer!”

  1. tntwmom said

    Thanks much for blogging about Wish Upon a Hero! It seems to be a wonderful place!

    I wished to find my real dad. I haven’t seen him since I was 2 years old. I have a lady working with me now trying to find him.

    It’s great to know that there are Heroes everywhere, and no matter what someone needs, another person out there can possibly grant their wish!

    I will put you on my blog roll, I think what you’re doing on this blog is amazing!

    Please let me know what else I can do to help you promote your blog!

    Shannon

  2. Schevus said

    Thanks, I greatly appreciate you adding me to your blogroll! I have been negligent these past few days because of some family matters, but should be back to posting regularly.

    – Schev

  3. Elishia said

    This is my first time on this site and I enjoy being on it..I had a few wishes but the main wish is to help with my rent and food..me and my fiance just had a baby and times is hard..i tried going back to work, but nobody wants to hire me..he works full time but the money is not that great..we have to pay our rent every month LATE..we pay in two installments..We barely have money for food..We just go to the store and stack up on cheap easy things like noodles, etc..Sometimes I even go without eating..we live off paycheck to paycheck and we never had any money to have fun..it constantly bills, and bills, and more bills..We got denied for welfare assistance, and food stamps..which wouldve been a great help..but we are struggling to keep a roof over our heads…its soo hard..

  4. Schevus said

    Elishia,

    I am very sorry it’s taken me this long to reply. My wife recently returned from the middle east and my life has been crazy. I assume you were denied assistance because you “make too much money”? Have you tried getting assistance from any private organizations?

    – Schev

Leave a Reply

 
